Embarking on a writing journey

I am embarking on a journey. No, not a physical one. Not a spiritual one either, although that’s up for interpretation. I am joining the NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) challenge for the month of November. This is a Novel Writing challenge with an enormous following. When you sign up, you pledge to write 50,000 words over the span of the month of November. The rest is pretty much up to you.

This is a very personal goal for me. During my studies at university, the biggest thing I struggled with was writing. So much so, that one of my fourth year English professors said to me: “I can tell you’re ESL (English Second Language)”. This struck a chord, and writing became an enormous obstacle for me. One way that I am trying to get out of my comfort zone is this blog, another, is signing up for the challenge.

Because it is my first attempt at something of this magnitude, I am not putting too much pressure on myself. If I do not meet the 50,000 word mark, I will not stress out, and hopefully I will continue working on the novel past the month of November and even into the year 2017.

2016-10-12-14.10.52.jpg.jpg

My rough plans for my novel in my Bullet Journal

All that being said, where do I begin? Luckily there are a whack-load of resources for us n00bs out there. Here are a few that I have discovered:

Boho Berry – Thanks to Kara over at Boho Berry I learned about the NaNoWriMo in the first place. She has a great post about her plans, tips & tricks for the challenge. She also posted a quick Bullet Journal flip-through video for the NaNoWriMo.

NaNoWriMo.org – Where else to get inspiration and connect with like-minded people than the source of it all. This website allows you to create an account where you can connect with people in your area, keep track of your progress, announce your novel, and much more. It also provides tons of resources for free or at a discounted rate for those that have signed up. Make sure to check out their sponsors page for more information.

Scrivener – One of the sponsors of the challenge is Scrivener by Literature and Latte. For NaNoWriMo members they are offering a free trial that won’t expire until December 7th. It is a perfect tool for writers or people who need to write “long and difficult documents”. The program/app is available on Windows, Mac, and iOS.

For those of you also embarking on this journey, I wish you lots of luck. For those of you that are interested in my progress, stay tuned and I will share along the way.

Laterdays,

Lisa

Leave a Reply

